Bucolic Opulence

Being in your own comfort is the most luxury you'll ever know.

Dream, Dream, Dream

Leave a comment

I am an avid dreamer. I have a tendency to daydream frequently, and sometimes I can make my dreams a reality.

I am the kind of person that wants something right when I want it.  And when I really want something, I make it happen.  I don’t like to give up on the things I work towards- I suppose this comes from my competitive nature.

Ever since I was very little, I’ve wanted to travel and see the world. It’s a lifelong dream that I have had a small glimpse of reality through my college experiences. In the summer of 2008, I spent 4 weeks living, studying, and traveling in Spain. As a Spanish major, an opportunity to go to Spain was a dream come true.  I lived in Salamanca with a host family that didn’t speak any English. I studied at a small school just outside of the Plaza Mayor, which was just a short walk from my family’s flat. Every weekend, I traveled away from Salamanca to learn about different history and culture throughout the country. It was the most amazing and beautiful experience of my life. I have spent the last 5 and a half years  trying to plan my return, but growing up has seriously hindered my planning.

I spent the entire summer of 2009 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. I was working for a debt collection agency as a bilingual customer service rep. I had such a wonderful summer in Saskatoon. I made many friends that I miss dearly. I have also been trying to plan a return trip to Canada to see my friends again, but life has been getting away of these plans too.

So I’ve had small chances to see only tiny bits of this planet, but my hunger for travel has only grown larger. I now have a full time job working in the international department of a manufacturing company, and daydreaming for adventure is at an all-time high. When I was hired, I was told I would have opportunities for travel through work. These “opportunities” have yet to be presented, and everyday more and more I feel the walls around me closing in. I stare blankly at my computer most days just pining to run out and jump into a helicopter like Walter Mitty.  But instead,  I reach for the new pile of paperwork that has built up and I earn my dollar. It’s thrilling.

My best friend is leaving for South Korea in 11 days and I could not be more ecstatic for her. I also could not be more jealous. She’s living the adventure that I want! While I work an office job and pay off my car. Starting a job with a nice salary and excellent benefits seemed like such a good idea 2 years ago… But now, I keep wondering if I’m throwing precious time away. I mean, I have the rest of my life to work, so shouldn’t I be living out my travel fantasies now?  While I’m young, single, and completely without attachments?

The answer is YES. As of 3 days ago, I have officially made the decision that in less than a year, I will be quitting my job to spend at least one year to have an adventure. I am going to see the world as I have always desired to do so. I’m going to make a lifelong dream come true!  It’s going to take a lot of planning and dedication, but the payoff will be more than worth it.  I’ll be posting a lot of my planning journey as I go, so maybe if you need some inspiration you can draw a little from my own experiences. I will very graciously accept any helpful tips and advice from other adventure-seekers, too. :)

Until I leave, I’ll just keep dreaming. Now though, I’ll be dreaming a lot more excitedly knowing the reality is just on the horizon. As the Spanish say, “más sabe el diablo por viejo que por diablo.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.